The Stanley Baxter Series

Baxter's appearances became more sporadic during the late 1970s, with only one more special made in 1979 before this return to the weekly sketch format he last used in 1972. Stanley no longer played every single character himself, and he was joined by guest stars such as Derek Francis and Julia McKenzie. The superb theme tune is by Alyn Ainsworth, stalwart LWT composer and conductor. After this series, LWT made one last Christmas special with Baxter in 1982 and then declined to renew his contract, because the costs of producing these lavish shows had become so daunting.