Z Cars

Created by Troy Kennedy Martin, there were thirteen series of police drama Z Cars over 16 years, named after its Ford Zephyr patrol vehicles. A total of 799 episodes were made, of which 467 are missing believed wiped. As the constables, Colin Welland, Brian Blessed, James Ellis, Joseph Brady and Jeremy Kemp became household names, plus Stratford Johns as Det. Chief Inspector Barlow, and Frank Windsor as Det. Chief Supt. Watt. This clip show the first episode, Four of a Kind (02/01/1962).